Brunch At Home – Sweet Potato Hash

I spent almost 10 years in New York during my 20s and a better part of that time was spent “brunching”.  I was in heaven. Breakfast or really brunch has always been my favorite meal of the day. So much so that my mother always said that I would end up having a wedding brunch instead of dinner…and that’s just what we did…and it was delicious.  Eggs and potatoes will always be my answer to the question “What would you eat as your last meal?”.

Now that we have the twins, going out for brunch is a rarity, so I make a brunch at home. Every. Single. Weekend… and sometimes for dinner too.  This is my go-to and something I developed when we started our grain free diet.  No more eggs benny on english muffins 😦 But even now when our diet has finished, it has remained a favorite.  There are so many ways to adapt this recipe to your own diet – swap out the bacon for portobellos, arugula for spinach or the goats cheese for shards of parmesan.  There a million different ways to make this tasty dish – let your imagination (or tastebuds!) go wild.

Sweet Potato Hash

Sweet Potato Hash

  • 1 sweet potato diced
  • 1 sweet vidalia onion or 1 red onion diced
  • 50 grams of bacon – diced
  • 1 half of a red pepper diced
  • 30 grams of goats cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • handful of arugula
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Heat olive oil in a medium frying pan and add potato, onion and bacon. Fry the hash until the potatoes start to soften, then add the red pepper.  Fry until the potatoes are cooked through, the bacon is crispy and the onion will be slightly charred. Remove from heat.

Sweet Potato Hash

Meanwhile, lets get those eggs started.  I make soft boiled eggs to go with this dish but you can make any kind you like!  To soft boil, I bring a pot to boil then add my eggs and cook for 4 minutes.  I then remove the eggs and place in a bowl of cold water.  Once cooled, they will peel easily. Peel and then place back in the hot water for an additional minute to warm through.  This will give you perfectly set whites with runny yolks.

Sweet Potato Hash with Soft Eggs

To serve, add the hash to the plate top with arugula and cheese and eggs.  Drizzle with a little high quality extra virgin olive oil and fresh cracked pepper.